I am sorry for that.

Those are my specialties, not economics, but the current economic issues are very important to me, and are inextricably linked to the political problems we currently have. It probably makes about as much sense as a plumber working on electrical equipment, for me to have such and obsession with it, but I feel that if there is anything I can do to help, any logical thing I can say about what is taking place at the central bank and its interactions with congress that will help fix the impact to society, I feel I have to do it. I have a responsibility to do it, knowing the reality of what happened to folks who were victims of the Great Depression and were touched by it in very personal and devastating ways.

That is why I am currently obsessed with attacking the Fed, the Austrians and inflation chicken littles on qualitative terms. I can do that. It doesn’t take a PhD in economics to reduce logical arguments made by the pros into easy to understand terms for everyone else. I take great care in trying not to comment past my understanding or change the terms of the ideas of others as I understand them. I might venture off into thinking out loud, but that is rare.

But I am getting back into history because the economics situation is too depressing and I need to think about other things. So if you’re looking for that, I will have some shortly.

I am currently reading a book about the rise and fall of the Whig party in the US. It is 1200 pages and not so easy to read, but I am getting through it. There are some interesting perspectives I’ve gained from it about what eventually became the Republican Party (not in a technical renaming sense, but more of a remaking out the ashes of the Whigs) that I would like to share. You might be shocked at who ended up with these Whigs and consequently, the Republicans.

I’ve also finished reading the notes from the debates of the quasi-constitutional convention called by Virginia in 1861 for the purpose of drawing up suggestions for amendment to the constitution in order to avert the chance of escalating the secession crisis and averting war. I found some interesting things about Northern attitudes that we don’t much hear about today. Those who said the war was not about slavery are mostly wrong, but partially right. I will tell you how they are wrong, but also how they are right, according to the opinions expressed in that convention.

That is the stuff I have for now, and I will keep digging through my archives for more things to post that have some relevance to what we are living through today. I have already some stuff on the social history on the Great Depression that I have not put up yet. I had a hard time finishing I became too emotional at the personal tragedy and the way it was experienced on such a grand scale. There was not a single person who was not impacted.  This one and the other two topics aforementioned will be coming up next week.

