That’s ~53m people who don’t have enough to eat in the land of plenty (up 7% since 2007). Because this issue has touched close to me during the Great Recession, it carries with it a great deal of emotion when I think about it. I don’t have to wonder what unemployed parents have going through their minds when there is still two weeks left in the month at the end of their money. I don’t have to wonder about the feeling of helplessness when a best friend says she hasn’t had any food to eat in 10 days, and there isn’t any extra money to send. There are people struggling with hunger that no one would suspect. Some might have jobs, but their spouse became unemployed and family income was stretched; or maybe the job they could find doesn’t meet their expenses.  It all depends on their circumstances and many of them suffer in silence.

Some thoughts that float through my mind over this issue include that perhaps I should add it to my “The Bernanke Legacy” post; although there probably isn’t much point to whipping that horse when it doesn’t seem to matter what I say. So if it doesn’t matter, then I surely shall add the photos of 2012 soup kitchens to that post, just like the ones floating around from the Great Depression era. Then, when people finally get why the economy has been so bad, I will have a jump on having said the cruel things that are well earned.

Regardless of whether the Fed can ever get its act together, charities that help to remedy hunger here in my own country are my target for this year, and likely forever. Domestic hunger is so unnecessary on so many levels. And I will probably go even farther than that. I plan on sharing meals more often. If my potential employment works out, I am going to be bringing food to the office often. I will also be donating food to shelters.

And I hope you will join me in helping to alleviate local hunger by donating to a shelter near you – help turn tears of despair into a gracious smile.

