I have been a Republican since I was old enough to vote. My first time voting in a Presidential election cycle was 1988, and I voted for Jack Kemp in the primary. I voted for Steve Forbes in the primary in 1996, and John McCain in 2000 and 2008. The John McCain that ran in 2008 was not the same one who ran in 2000, however, and I voted for him for lack of a better alternative (Fred Thompson was gone by the time my state held primaries).  I voted for Gingrich in 2012. I suppose that my primary voting record goes to prove a point that only once did I even halfway agree with the direction of the party.

Right now, however, I find myself extremely annoyed by the positions so-called conservatives have taken on monetary policy and the endless drumbeat of the need to squash and scapegoating of what I have always held to be the most important principles of them all: free markets and economic freedom.

Having tight money for the purpose of squashing “speculative bubbles” squashes economic freedom, kills opportunities for young people, and makes life nearly unlivable for millions of people who suddenly find themselves unemployed with nowhere to go. These are the effects of tight money that we can see and touch and feel. The opportunity cost to society as a whole that comes from starving the economy of cash and credit by not accommodating demand for it, however, is entirely unknowable, immeasurable, and is an incredible waste of human potential. And I somehow am not comforted by the consolation that we can’t miss what we will never have.

It’s disgusting and unforgivable.

So now, I have a voter registration card in front of me so I can become disentangled from the very people I detest even more than nationalist Democrats. I have a choice of a few different parties, I can write one in, or I can choose to be unaffiliated.  It would be nice if I could find a political home. But there aren’t any for a Friedmanesque liberal (in the classic sense of the word). So, I suppose I will just be on my own for now and until something worth my time comes along.

Good-bye big government GOP.  I can’t say that it has been nice knowing ya, because it really hasn’t.

