I made a post last week about an anecdote I thought was related to improvements in the US labor market. As it turns out, it was correct in some ways and speculative, at best, in others. At the time I wasn’t aware of the other piece of information I was missing, that the new policy was more or less a rebalancing effort to avoid displacement of US employees as much as possible, a noble effort on the part of the company. Again, I wish I could be more specific, but I really cannot be without getting into trouble.

I probably won’t be posting anything new for perhaps a week or so. I am finding myself at a cross-road, where I either have to become more involved with what is going on immediately around me or let it all go by with my head in the clouds, or in this case thinking about macro issues as much as possible while being only mediocre at my real job. Being a lay person, there is only so much I can do about the deplorable macroeconomic situation while I have a concern about my own survival through it. And while my passions drove me to speak out, I am not very happy with the posts I have been coming up with lately; they are not constructive.

When I learned the other piece of my anecdote yesterday, the “why” of the off-shore hiring freeze, I lost nearly all composure. The little bit of optimism I had left melted away, gushing out through my eyes. With that much emotion and passion about the effects of dysfunctional monetary policy, it is impossible to write about it without saying what I think of it and the people involved in it. For now, it is probably best to not say anything more, at least until I can regain my composure and carry on. Needless to say, I am finding refuge in technology and want to spend more of my “free” time with that topic until I can offer more constructive support to my MM friends.

