Poor Howie had this to say on Facebook about his recent layoff from ESPN:

    After 26 years at ESPN, I am extremely disappointed to say farewell. I have been proud of my association and my work during my tenure.

I was a loyal employee, displayed respect for others, worked with numerous charities, represented the company well. I always did everything asked of me and more.

What did I get in return today … word that I should get lost. The only thing that mattered was my salary, which in my view was the lone reason I lost my job.

Howie, meet sticky wages.

Perhaps he doesn’t realize that many others were laid off before him in order to subsidize his salary, and now he’s going in order to subsidize someone else. The tight money doo-doo rolls uphill; and if he feels slighted, perhaps a better thing to do would be to put a bug in the ear of his media friends to stop covering for the Fed’s inflation targeting gone wrong so we can stop the viscous game of musical chairs.

