In my post of nearly the same title (here), I said I’d be going through the pile of financial news stories on Reuters, pulling out and posting the ones that, in my judgment, unabashedly expressed anti-QE bias whilst not being labeled as editorial or opinion. For that post, I received 28 hits from Canada alone; and strangely enough, many of the stories I found objectionable have either disappeared from the website or are only available on the Reuters app for iPad. That poses a bit of a problem because it is now impossible to link to them.

I would like to say, however, that it doesn’t bother me if these journalists have that opinion of QE. Opinions don’t do damage when they are presented as opinions.  They do damage when they are disguised as news with the assumption that everyone either agrees or should agree with that opinion and it’s quite alright to mix in highly charged buzz words and phrases and call it news. Readers should be drawing their own conclusions regarding news that is reported to them in a neutral fashion instead of having someone else’s conclusions spoon-fed to them by people who don’t know any better. The story I pointed out about North Korea’s currency crisis is the perfect example, though not the only one I have come across, of the ignorance of these reporters regarding political economic matters.

It really is okay with me that the stories are gone, as I prefer such stories to never have been published in the first place.  And with my busy schedule, I have better things to do with my time than to point out the problem, having to go through months of information, story by story, and call it out. But I think the gravity of the macroeconomic situation that appears to be global in nature and all of the financial implications it carries for average people calls for a retraction – an apology for disseminating bad information.

PS: I am now on high alert and will be calling these stories out as they appear instead of trying to go back in time. And I am not just picking on Reuters. I actually have a bit of fondness for the organization and feel that I am really just helping them to maintain the impeccable reputation of the establishment.

