I took a break from filching graphs from fellow blogger Marcus Nunes and have been playing with the graphing capabilities of Excel while trying to finally come up with my own graphs that don’t look like birdcage liner. The graph below of total non-farm payrolls, monthly from Jan. 2008 to June 2013 probably isn’t something that I would use on a constant basis, but it looks useful for illustrating that the recession has a “shape.” The worst of it appears to have occurred between December 2009 and February 2010. Perhaps if I expanded it to cover an additional two years, we might be able to see something that looks more like a “hole being dug out of employment” (or the Fed failing its mandate) in three stages of severity.

Image

At the end of the day however, I still think this simple line graph tells an understandable story of where we are in terms of employment.

Nonfarm1

