I haven’t been blogging much in the last month. That is partly due to the work load for my day job. But part of it is that I sense a beginning of the end of the Great Recession in the US, and I am not sure I have much left to say about it.

During the holiday break I noticed a marked change in the massive media spin machine. I have access to Bloomberg Live TV on my Apple TV device now, and I got a chance to watch some of it while being able to do some work from home.  I can’t remember the name of the show, but they had a gentleman guest who was going on about the “coming crash of the dollar.” I have to say that I was delighted when after he was done prophesizing, he was soundly ridiculed by the hosts, when not too long ago these people were front and center of the information sphere. It really is too bad the guest never read any of Dr. Sumner’s work, especially before he made an idiot out of himself on television.

Intuition, I suppose one could call it, leads me to believe people like the guest on Bloomberg are victims in some sense too. Because the persistent dire straits had very little to do with them, but rather Larry Summers and crew on the Council of Economic Advisers seemed to just carry on where the Bush Administration left off with only a few minor modifications. Oh, God… It went from “Hope and Change” to “Hope it Changes” to “Hopeless Changes.” Honestly, these last 6 years have been the longest test of endurance ever – one monster of a “storm” that at one point I thought would never end.

I admit, however, that while I am elated we are finally on the road to recovery, it is also a bit of a downer. I had the opportunity to explore my intellectual curiosities in economics and history on a full time basis, while honing my writing skills and making new acquaintances. Of particular note is being sometime pen-pals with Becky Hargrove, whom I would never have had the opportunity to get acquainted with if not for the crisis. She is an engaging and fascinating woman whose true-life stories inspired me and gave strength to hope for something better. Life would just not have been the same without having known her.

The monetary crisis gave me a sense of purpose, and now I feel a bit rudderless. While I am sure there are still reams of nonsensical economic news reporting out there to ridicule and poke fun at, it just feels different, like… umm… beating a dead horse. And compared to writing about a major crisis, writing about the US Chamber of Commerce attacking the Tea Party or nutty, self-important conservative talk show hosts seems petty. Perhaps I will find something else that will motivate and drive me, but I have not yet done so.  I am open to suggestions. If you have any please leave them in the comments section.

