As you may already know, Mr. Cantor, US representative in the House and Majority Leader from Culpepper, VA, lost his congressional seat in the Republican primary election last night and has resigned his leadership position effective at the end of July. I never heard him voice a view on monetary policy. But there are plenty of other reasons for feelings of relief that he will not be returning for the next session of Congress, arrogance is among them. Here’s a link to a video on C-SPAN of a so-called listening tour in which Mr. Cantor accompanied Mitt Romney and Jeb Bush where they did everything but listen to what the folks who attended had to say. If you watch it, you can get the picture as to why Cantor is likely my least favorite Congressman; and in general, I agree with widespread commentary that he had forgotten who he works for.

The other thing I’d like to say about the matter is that the winner of the primary, Mr. Brat, has been widely reported as being a Tea Party candidate. That couldn’t be farther from the truth. Mr. Brat never publicly identified with the Tea Party, nor did the Tea Party officially provide his campaign with support. This gentleman basically came from out of nowhere to defrock Cantor. I have not heard anything about the Tea Party rejecting the association with Brat. But I certainly would if I were they, nobody knows where this guy actually came from, and I would object to having anyone who defeats an establishment Republican being automatically associated, as if some kind of slur for psycho.

I am no longer associated with the Tea Party, but even so, I believe it to be victimized repeatedly through the media by arrogant, elitist politicians who think that average people have no business or right to engage in politics as if we are simply cattle to be herded around for their pleasure. These tyrants are what’s wrong with American politics today, having the politician/constituent relationship exactly backward. We are NOT their servants, but certainly their victims. I am very glad the residents of Culpepper decided that they had had enough.

