When I was single I had a personal rule: never get back together with an old flame. No matter how tempting, it’s a no-no because I had done so approximately twice and was quickly reminded of why it didn’t work out in the first place.

Watching the election returns, I noticed myself slipping back into the old patterns – waiting to see if the Republican would win. And I only voted for one this time around, having voted Libertarian for every post that had a Libertarian candidate. The only reason I voted for the Republican running for my House district is because I can’t stand the incumbent. But so many things have changed over the last six years that lead me to leave the Republican Party that there just isn’t any going back.

In my last post I pointed out some of the more revolting elements discussed during the consideration of the adoption of an inflation target from an article written in 2007. What I didn’t point out, however, was that Barney Frank, the Democrat who was the chairman of the House Financial Services Committee, was dead set against an inflation target, saying something to the effect that it would basically ignore the full employment mandate, a point that was confirmed by the article.

A shortcoming of this approach is that if a big shock, such as a jump in energy prices, drove inflation up sharply, it could take more than four years to get it back to the target, unless the Fed was willing to drive unemployment sharply higher. Another is that the forecast would include unemployment, and Congress might see that as an implicit target for which the Fed should be held accountable.

Some have said that Republicans didn’t have anything to do with adoption of explicit inflation targeting that happened anyway despite strong words against it from Chairman Frank. I haven’t found any evidence they were behind it, but I am aware that they ran both houses of congress when legislation allowing IoR that is one a part of the IT tool set was passed and GWB signed it.

Then there were the last six years of inflation nutterism and bubble fear mongering, and pushing bills to strip the full employment mandate altogether on the part of Republicans. Of course I may be giving them too much credit in assuming they actually knew what they were doing. But the tone of the election cycle of 2012 was just really bad with 47% of the electorate written off as deadbeat government dependents. Would any of them admit that the Fed felt it had to drive up unemployment to control supply side inflation while calling the victims of that policy undesirables and deadbeats? It’s a really good question because I happen to have been a victim and was out of work for so long I thought I’d never work again – and I felt insulted by them in the most personal kind of way.

When I got into the voting booth, I had every intent of voting for Andrew Cuomo for governor. It’s true that he likes lots more government than I care for, but he challenged the teachers’ union, cut taxes, and is trying to attract new businesses to the state. Cuomo reminds me a little bit of what Newt Gingrich might be if he were center-left instead of center-right. My highest priority is economics, and so he would have been a good choice.

But when I got there, I noticed something that made me do a double-take. Kathy Hokul was listed as Cuomo’s running mate. To put it plainly, Hokul is so far left as to be revolting. And maybe far left really isn’t the proper term in describing her. No, hiring someone for a job just because they have a certain appendage missing or the disgusting insinuation that all women must – have – abortions and don’t care about anything else (do we really have to talk about that all the time?) is more descriptive of the kind of liberal she is. It made my stomach turn and I just couldn’t check that box for someone who insults my intelligence. Eww. (Ditto for the incumbent in my House district – Eww).

I don’t know why I voted Libertarian – they are more righty-tighty than Republicans! I suppose I don’t know why I voted at all. There is no party that wants to be sensible, reasonable, or just. One either has to be forced to pay for someone else’s abortion, be forced into a labor union, or into a certain style of living with the appropriate and approved values, be financially raped with tight money or all of the above.

Where is the “Just leave us the hell alone” party? I need that because I think I’ve had about as much as I can stand.

