It’s been a little while since my last post. And it wasn’t for anything suspenseful or worth mentioning. I wasn’t kidnapped and held for ransom by the inflation nutters. Which, it is quite alright because nobody would pay the ransom anyway.

Really, I just haven’t had that much to say. I have been trying to stay connected while I take time out to read, some of it looking for a topic to write about, and some of the more recreational variety. It had been a long time since I picked up a good history book.

One of things I heard is that Ramesh Ponnuru worked with Marco Rubio on his tax plan. I haven’t read it yet. But it’s interesting that they are working together and it is good news for public policy and market monetarism even if Rubio’s presidential campaign fizzles out.

Donald Trump isn’t polling well lately. He came in next to last in a poll taken a couple of weeks ago, amazingly beating out George Pataki who came in dead last. Of course I never thought Pataki would make it that far as to even register on a poll, but it goes to show the things people seem to care about.

Rand Paul’s son was arrested for DUI after crashing into a car parked along the sidewalk. He apparently also has no insurance.

Al-Douri, formerly Saddam Hussein’s top military adviser was killed in a battle outside of Tikrit. Reuters reported that al-Douri had quite a following of militant former Baathists, and had used IS to try to retake Baghdad. Some highlights about the amazing swing through Iraq by IS last summer are starting to line up: The amazing feats of logistics; the Iraqi army full of Baathists disintegrating and joining IS taking their weapons with them; the brutality.

I have to admit that even I was fooled regarding the nature of the invasion of Iraq. It’s actually much more of an intelligence and diplomatic debacle than I had assumed. The last thing I would have considered was that the Baathists were back, or that they really had never accepted defeat. It sort of makes a mockery of the DNC’s rhetoric about inclusion and insistence on time tables when the disintegration of the Iraqi army was largely an inside job. And it doesn’t particularly work out well for Mrs. Clinton’s campaign – that is if any in the American mass media would tell it like it is. As Secretary of State, she couldn’t take time out of her busy fund raising schedule for her foundations to pay attention to what was going on over there. That woman had no business being in the State Department and certainly has none in the Oval Office with one foreign policy debacle after another occurring under her watch.

Apple released the Apple Watch yesterday. My husband and I looked at them at the Apple store, and they look nice. It would be convenient to have an extension of my phone on my wrist so that I don’t have to worry about not being able to hear the phone when I get important notifications, receive a text or a phone call. But the price is a showstopper with the aluminum case model sporting a rubberized band for $349. If you want the leather band with a buckle, which I would because the rubber bands make me itch, you’d have to shell out another $350. The leather band is nice – but not THAT nice and it doesn’t add that much additional value to the watch itself. So, I will take a pass until there are 3rd party bands available – or maybe for forever. That was the first time I’ve left the Apple store sensing an attempt at abusing my wallet.

Greece is still a mess. The last reports I read about the situation there had the central government raiding the coffers of public enterprises and local governments in order to stay afloat. Maybe they are doing all of this knowing it will lead to issuing drachmas, as in simply reaching the end of the road and accidently leaving the euro rather than getting underway on purpose. That appears to be the only road back to sovereignty; something the Greek public doesn’t want to hear, but would actually be much better for them. I also read a report that the ECB doesn’t want to the Geek government to issue IOUs, fearing that the IOUs would become a currency. And I think I agree, but I would say that rather than IOUs, the government should just issue drachma to prevent ambiguity about their use.

