The chart that goes along with this article on Bloomberg about inequality gave me an idea for a post. I didn’t bother reading the story, rather I zoomed in on the chart. I don’t have a lot of time to flesh it out, but it has something to do with the value of education, that of public schools in particular… I wonder if anyone else can see what I see happening to people with only a high school diploma since 2010 compared to the other categories. It’s also interesting that the disparities in general became more pronounced during the last decade, and those with undergrad degrees took what looks to be the largest hit during the Great Recession – a hint of a contradiction of the idea that the low skilled bore the brunt. I don’t know how good of a chart it is to help the peddlers of inequality rhetoric, but it is a great chart for other purposes.

