There comes a time when nearly everything constructive (and probably not-so-constructive) to be said about a topic has been said. And saying more is doesn’t add any value, at least coming from me.

Starting in 2008, we have witnessed and lived through extraordinary times that out of unjustified optimism I hope will never happen again. And I feel like I had plenty of company to share the hard times with as I vented my experience on my laptop keyboard and posted them on my blog. My poor Asus laptop that I used so much it has most all of the letters worn off the keyboard. On some of the more common letters, like ‘T’ and ‘S,’ I’ve even worn through the top layer of plastic. But it still works like new, one just needs to be able to type by touch to use it.

I never set out to become somebody or something different as a result of my posted ‘musings.’ Being somewhat of a self-proclaimed political commentator of sorts was never my goal. I really just wanted to spread the word that the economic circumstances just didn’t have to be the way they were. The collapse of the economy and the banking system was a choice, not a necessity, and the nasty bout of unemployment was, in my point of view, purposeful. I was incensed that the government would do such a thing, pick an inflation target that is too low and push toward lowing the rate of increase in wages to match it, and then lie about doing so while doing nothing to mitigate the resulting humanitarian disaster and waste laid of an entire generation.

And for what? Even after all of these years of research for my blog, I haven’t been able to find a good reason other than some view of political expediency. And sure, politics is a messy business, but in my book the magnitude of the calamity simply crossed the bright red line into immorality and intellectual abuse in teaching people all the wrong lessons about economic life.

The demagoguery intellectual dishonesty about inflation, as if it means something more important, continues to drown out questions about practicality regarding the tradeoff of controlling it. Should the inflation rate always be held at 2% regardless of the destruction and lost opportunities for growth that come with doing so? Was it worth the tribulation, the health of our financial system and waste of human spirit to get there? My personal opinion is no on both, and I doubt I’d find a lot of agreement with the current monetary policy framework if the tradeoffs had been clearly spelled out and understood. But we didn’t even get a choice. The tradeoffs were never spelled out in a public comment forum prior to policymakers implementing it. This policy was simply foisted upon us from on high, and hell and high water came.

Nevertheless, over the last couple of years I have been dividing my focus between topics that concern my day job and my hobby of economics. There are so many things demanding my attention and focus, it’s difficult to do all of them well or even mediocre. I am not particularly satisfied with my present job, and I often consider opportunities to go after and what I need to do to get into a position to do so. Unfortunately, none of them have to do with econ.

Blogging was a special outlet for me during a period of my life when I had nothing else to hold onto. Lately that feeling like nothing will ever be the same again has started to fade. And seems like it’s time to turn the page and focus on unleashing the spectacular technologist that I was and should be once more. The Great Recession wasn’t the end of a great career that I really loved. It was intermission.

With that said, I am not ready to completely let go of my blog. But I probably won’t be posting as much as I have in the past, and I will have a broader mix of topics – more tech and a lot less politics and economics.

And I just want to say that all of the new friends I have made in helping to support the Market Monetarist message have been invaluable to me. I also want to thank Scott Sumner, Marcus Nunes, Lars Christensen, Benjamin Cole and Becky Hargrove for all of the informative and educational material they have posted, and everything they have done over the years to try to improve the lives of people the world over. Speaking for myself, I am very grateful for their efforts to influence hearts and minds toward alternative, and  much less painful economic policies.

