It’s really easy for latecomers to the movement to pass judgement on the content posted here on my blog. But that is only because my blog has been more like a journal resulting from a set of complex motivations that have shifted over time. In my last post, I posted the content of an old draft that had been hanging around in my drafts folder since only a month after my blog was launched. And it reminded of me of the context in which it was written.

In the beginning of ‘dajeeps’ I was in a situation of near dire straits, spending my time trying to take my mind off hunger and had been politically ostracized for my point of view on macro. In my point of view I was in the in the most humiliating and humbling of circumstances, feeling like an extreme outcast, that coincided with the 2008 crisis and began with a layoff that appeared out of nowhere as one of those major life curve balls of horrid luck over which I was completely powerless.

Having been an early subscriber and lurker on MM blogs in the atmosphere at the time of the media inundating the public with anti-inflation propaganda, given my situation, it proved an explosive combination of a former political activist in desperation armed what is the closest logical thing to the truth about recent events I could find.

There are a multitude of things I learned during the Great Recession that I have wished on many occasions that I could unknow. A life-long friend of mine who was still out in California was a reminder to me that my situation could have been much worse. She was also laid off as a result of the 2008 crisis when her company went bankrupt. Her marriage failed in the face of financial difficulties, leaving her with no income and her teenage daughter and elderly mother with Alzheimer’s disease in her care. On one occasion, in a telephone conversation, she shared with me a story of her family sharing one Banquet frozen dinner among the three of them for a family meal. Later, she also told me that she had gone without food for nearly two weeks as she gave what she had to her mother and daughter. I wanted to help, but did not have quite enough either, and I had nothing to spare. Her mother died before the economy improved. This was a horror I previously never could have imagined touching so close to home and that continued on for what felt like an eternity.

While this example of my forced education about what survival really means is not my only motivation for blogging, indeed, I was blogging politics on a conservative website before all of this disaster occurred, it is in very large part a contributing factor in my tone here toward figures within the monetary establishment, miscellaneous “economists,” and macro commentators everywhere who don’t seem appreciate the full meaning of their rather glib errors. It’s so much easier to be wrong and to continue being wrong when somebody one has never met and will never meet has to bear the burden of the error, in the much the same manner that it is very easy to have a carnivorous appetite when one doesn’t have to slaughter the meat. And for sure, my moral compass most always points north, except over hamburgers and chicken.

