Yesterday I posted my reaction to the spat between the editors of National Review and the GOP over Trump. In my usual fiery style, I lambasted the National Review for its own contribution to the making of the Trump phenomenon, holding nothing back, ending with the suggestion the conservative intellectuals need only look in the mirror in order to place blame for the intellectual irrelevance of their movement and everything that comes from it.

My passions regarding the making of the Great Recession and the manner in which it touched countless lives got a chance to chime in as well, and I included the Heritage Foundation in the description of having the worst case of cognitive atrophy since the fall of the Roman Empire.

By now, I really should know better. However, after spending my time as longer-term unemployed reading the worst monetary economics since the Great Depression coming out of even the more reliable smart people (perhaps because it’s so much easier to simply repeat nonsense than it is to actually think about what is being written), the post was a big release of pent up righteous indignation.

It was not my intention to create yet more victims of the terrible intellectual tragedy that were the 2008 financial crisis and the following Great Recession in painting large swaths of conservative intellectuals with one broad brush. Those who realize their mistakes of the past and reexamine their priors deserve to be commended, and that includes Norbert Michel of the Heritage Foundation who in December 2015 posted an article that, in my view, accurately describes the monetary situation that created the Great Recession and attempts to change the broader conversation about monetary policy away from interest rates to nominal GDP.

It is a commendable effort.

The Donald Trump problem by the time the article was posted was already out of the gate, however. The national political damage from a considerable number of years of conservative group thinking regarding macro myths has already been done. And like the lives, careers, small businesses and homes that were broken by the monetary tragedy, the Donald Trump political egg cannot be unbroken with the truth. It’s too late for that.

A reasonable question for the times is: where to go from here.

For me, the answer is simple. Through most of the political upheaval and financial tragedies playing out around me over the last several years, I have had no voice except this blog and I never wavered in my core principles even when it resulted in becoming an outcast.

It would have been so easy to publish streams of blog posts for the purpose of bubble, inflation and QE fear mongering; scapegoating illegals, and spreading disinformation about recipients of Federal assistance, low information voters, etc… and I probably would have had have one rockin’ political blog. Perhaps I would have even been able to quit my day job and launch a new celebrity career, cashing in on crisis like so many now-popular conservative “intellectuals” did. But it would have all been lies that in some measure perpetuated the misery of others, and that would have been too much for me to live with.

Not being listened to by the powers that be, or really much of anyone except for a few friends I’ve made along the way, is standard fare in my world. Donald Trump being the GOP nominee or even president isn’t going to change the situation, and that’s the way it is. I will keep criticizing bad government, telling it the way I see it. I have no intention of becoming a Donald-bot, now or ever.

