It was the second biggest night for the GOP presidential candidates last night. And it was not a good night for Marco Rubio who lost his home state.

In the video below, Geraldo makes the point that Rubio eviscerated his own character in his unrelenting focus on Trump, and therefore didn’t do as well last night as he might have. I can’t say for sure whether the results in Florida have anything to do with Rubio attacks on Trump. But there might be something to it because I saw some of the debate before last, and the negativity seemed out of place (though I admit I found the joke about yoga in reference to Trump’s flexibility was hilarious). Rubio just didn’t do negative well.

I pondered that point for a while because Rubio was doing well prior to the negativity. Perhaps not well enough to win all the delegates he needed to win the nomination, but well enough to deny Trump the delegates he needs. Rubio clearly is not a natural at negative. So it’s a wonder to me why he might have been willing to commit to such a risky strategy.

Sorry, Geraldo. I do not agree that Rubio eviscerated his character. Rather, he displayed strength of character for a cause much larger than himself, the party and the country; to try to stop Trump before the battle gets to the convention because if it makes it that far, there will be more trouble than the Party needs. He fell on his own sword and sacrificed himself, and those who insist Trump must be stopped should be proud of his efforts.

In my other notes, I have to admit that I do not agree with the other candidates on the trouble at the Trump rally in Chicago over the weekend. On Monday morning, Bloomberg kept looping a video clip from the rally that showed one of the protesters, a young-ish woman, shouting taunts in the face of a male Trump supporter. The Trump supporter kept trying to step back, away from the protester, and for each step he took away from her, she advanced a step. The protester was menacing the Trump supporter in such a provocative way that would likely fray the nerves of even the most peaceful people. In the Trump supporter’s shoes, I wouldn’t have been able to put up with it either. Even at the risk of starting a riot, I would have had to do something to get the woman away from me.

And then I thought about who the people protesting the Trump rally are. And these protesters, specifically, I had an issue with a few years ago for attacking people at Tea Party rallies. At one such rally, a disabled man in a wheelchair was beaten and hospitalized by these thugs as he was handing out Tea Party flags on sticks. These people are not my friends and I care not what happens to them.

Of course I’ve put a lot of thought toward those who have been trying to stop Trump. And despite the consideration, I can’t say whether I’ve truly made up my mind where I stand on the entire matter of Trump. But most of the people who appear to hate him most, for a variety of reasons I assume, I have major issues with myself, and I agree with them on practically nothing else. Most of them are people who do not have the General Welfare interests in mind.

And this is what is personally troubling me about the whole Trump ordeal the most. I feel like I am standing in front of the giant craps table of fate, gambling with choices between one known evil, the new and stagnant normal, and one huge question mark about what’s on the other side of Trump’s rhetoric. It’s enough to instill a desire to just click my heels together and wake up from this nightmare.

 

