I went cable TV-free about two and a half years ago. The decision to do so was out of necessity. But since starting a new job last December, I don’t feel the urge to go back to it as the substitutes, my Apple TV and Roku boxes, have about as many choices between them with a lot of free content.

Last night as I was going through new channels available on the Roku, I found the QVC app. For those who aren’t familiar with QVC, it’s a shopping network that also has a website. Of course I hadn’t watched it in a while so I loaded it on my box and tuned in. The ‘Today’s Special Value’ was a set of Heys hard shell luggage. In the demonstration of the luggage, the host pointed out the lock combo that comes on it as a feature; a combination lock for the purchaser to set and use and a key lock for TSA which has the master key. I’m not sure if QVC realizes that having a lock by which government agents can just help themselves to the contents of my luggage is a big turn off. In fact, the thought of it is appalling. It’s really too bad because it was a very nice set at a great price; but I would burn it before using it.

Out of curiosity, today when I went shopping at Target I went down the luggage aisle to examine the selection of bags and locks. Very few of the bags come with a lock installed. At the end of the aisle there were a few hanging baskets with little brass locks in them, each marked “TSA approved.” There weren’t any at all without the label. I wondered were the ones labeled “Rebel Lock” were because that would be what I would want.

Amendment 4, United States Constitution:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

PS: Don’t forget the address to the 10th Amendment Center it’s the place to go if you’re sick of the government violating its own laws.